Eresin In Stitches

Crochet Snowflake (1st Attempt)

on October 25, 2013

I picked up Simply Crochet magazine yesterday.  I’ve never really been interested in the lacy style of crochet but since the magazine came with the free snowflake cover kit, I thought I’d give it a go.

The instructions for it were clear enough but I found myself referring more to the picture than the written instructions.  In the end (without any frogging!) I had this:

IMG_2622 Photo 2013-10-25 09.20.49 am

I’m actually impressed it looks vaguely like the picture on the front of the kit.  I added a little loop to make it suitable for hanging which means the pointy bit isn’t at the top, but I think the general look is about right.  I’ve heard of this blocking, but I’m not entirely sure what it’s all about.  I *think* it has something to do with shaping your work after you’ve finished so it’s not all wonky and perhaps that is what I need to do here.  I will need to investigate.

Either way this was really quick to do and if you had a whole ball of white sparkly yarn (of which I have many) then you could probably cover your garden in these snowflakes, or maybe more sensibly, your Christmas tree.

4 responses to “Crochet Snowflake (1st Attempt)

  1. Blocking is the difference between that looking almost like the picture and it looking exactly like the picture. I only started doing it recently, and WOW what a difference! Definite must do for lace. Simply dunk the item in water with a small drop of soap so the fibers get wet, then spread it out on a towel to dry, and pin it in place all around. For an ornament, I recommend using some fabric stiffener In your blocking solution as well. For small items, I like to put plastic needlepoint mesh on the towel and use the holes I n the mesh as guides for pinning, so things come out nice and straight. Either way though, definitely try it with that beautiful snowflake – you will be amazed!

  2. […] My first attempts at making some pretty icicle Christmas decorations.  Unfortunately the tops came about a bit weird as I’m not entirely sure how to finish them off properly.  As you can see the tops of them look a right mess.  I made a large and a small one using some white yarn with sparkly bits though it.  The below pics don’t make them look very good at all but I’m hoping that with a bit of practice they can look better.  I feel like they should be stretched out a little bit to enhance the effect but not sure how to go about doing it.  Maybe I should stick to snowflakes. […]

Leave a Reply

